teachingscreen

Hélène Boucher, PhD

Doctor of Music Education

 

Philosophical Approach

Philosophy as an Ontological Ethics- Løgstrup/Wheeler1

For Logstrup we are subject to an ethical requirement when we meet other people and this demand forces us to take care of the part of their life that has been placed in our hands. In other words, we are intimately connected with one another and this bond creates an ethical demand. Education involves asymmetric relationships: one person being more or less in the power of another person, this requires that we be vigilant when trying to meet the individual demands of our students.

An essential element of this ethical requirement is trust: "To associate or personally meet another person always means being at the mercy of his words or his conduct." This requires that trust is not abused.

Ethical demand involves a challenge, it demands love. Although it is sometimes difficult to love all our students, "we do what we have to do". We then act responsibly.

The binding element is mediation. This is what acts as an intermediary between humans engaged in a certain type of relationship: in our context, music is the mediator. The natural gap between people can be filled in different ways: "we must be united in a common endeavor, a common interest".

The ethical demand is radical for several reasons:
1. it is not spoken
2. it can be satisfied with a very significant or very insignificant act or word
3. we must respond to the request, even if we deal with people that we cannot love or whose presence we cannot appreciate.

graphique

Adapting this vision for music education:

Trust: As teachers, we hold a part of each student's life in our hands. Our intention must be to take care of the part of each life placed in our hands.
An excellent curriculum is an excellent teacher who interacts with students in a pedagogical way.
We should allow our students to explore how a particular knowledge, competency or social interaction, modifies them as a person--how they affect their individual world. This concept is at the heart of good teaching.

Challenge: It is a difficult task to teach every day to large groups of students and to accept that everyone must be recognized and their individual requirements met. Love is demanded by students. If a music teacher likes music, but does not like the students to whom he/she teaches, then the learning environment is not all it could be. If the music teacher is more concerned by his/her own glory, or own aesthetic satisfaction, it is insufficient. The challenge is also to love all students, even those who, frankly, are not easy to like.

Mediation: Music is our "common interest" which mediates relationships. Education is not a business and students are not customers. "The art of teaching" requires love more than responsibility and music can provide energy in the recognition of our human ties.

 

"I teach people, not music…"

 

1. Wheeler, T. R. (2006). Toward a Framework for a New Philosophy of Music Education: Løgstrup as Synergy Between the Platonic and Aristotelian Perspectives in the Music Education Philosophies of Bennett Reimer and David Elliott (Doctoral dissertation, University of North Texas).

  MusicSpecialists

Pedagogial Approach

Active Teaching and Learning

1. What I hear, I forget.
2. What I hear and see, I remember a little.
3. What I hear, see, and ask questions about or discuss with someone else, I begin to understand.
4. What I hear, see, discuss, and do, I acquire knowledge and skill.
5. What I teach to another, I master.

Gartner, A. (1998). Mutual tutoring: Embedding and extending peer-assisted learning. In K. Topping & S. Ehly (Eds.), Peer-Assisted Learning, 281-289. Hillsdale, NJ: Erlbaum.

 

Courses Taught

Department of Integrated Studies in Education
Education Faculty, McGill University (Montréal, Québec)

Undergraduate Courses:

Music Curriculum and Instruction for Generalists
Study of materials and instructional techniques grounded in an understanding of basic musical concepts and contemporary theories of music teaching and learning. Definition of musical objectives and rationales, selection and development of materials, review of QME guidelines. Participation through singing, movement, listening, discussion and lesson planning
and implementation.

Music Methods I
Preparation for Third Field Experience. Includes the study of music curriculum content and instructional approaches,
classroom management issues, lesson planning and program development for elementary and secondary schools.
Relevant professional competencies will be addressed, developed and assessed.

Music Methods II
Preparation for Fourth Field Experience. Follow-up of the topics introduced in Music Methods I.

  HélèneTeaching

Department of Music Education
Schulich School of Music, McGill University (Montréal, Québec)

Undergraduate Courses:

Music for Children
Using child-centered approaches such as Orff, Kodaly and Dalcroze, students will explore techniques and philosophies for cultivating musical understanding in children aged 6-12. Research related to musical development and the fostering of creativity will also be investigated. A field experience and curriculum organization component is included.

Music in Early Childhood
Organized as a laboratory, this course will explore the musical growth and development of children from birth to age six, with topics including heredity and environment, music skills and concept development, affective development, creativity, and musical activities.

Psychology of Music
The objectives of this course are to: 1. Explore various aspects of the psychology of music, including music and the brain, musical development in childhood, talent, perception of music, performance, practice, motivation, evaluation, teaching, performance anxiety, music therapy and music in the industry. 2. Make connections between research in music psychology and musical interpretation, composition, analysis and education. 3. Familiarize students with various research methodologies. 4. Understand and summarize research articles and develop a critical look at research results.

Music as a Profession
This course provides music students with information relevant to leading successful careers in the field of music. Over the course of the semester, numerous topics relating to this area will be presented and examined, including musicians' physical and mental health, practice techniques, entrepreneurship, and career development.

Doctoral Research Colloquium
The Doctoral Colloquium is a weekly lecture series organized by the Department of Music Research at McGill University.
The main objectives of the colloquium are:
1- To provide Ph.D. students with a supportive and stimulating environment to present their research and meet their PhD peers across disciplines in music;
2- To offer unique opportunities to engage with research presented by guest lecturers and McGill faculty members;
3- To encourage students to attend a variety of professional development workshops that serve as a forum in which students can seek advice on professional issues.

   

Music Faculty
Université Laval (Québec, Québec)

Undergradate Course

Philosophy of Music Education
PhD Various points of view on art: referentialism, expressionism, formalism. A fundamental philosophical conception of art in general (art and feeling, aesthetic meaning, aesthetic experience) and music especially (musical meaning, musical experience). The application of basic philosophical concepts to musical education as defined by aestheticism and praxialism.

Educational Psychology in Music
In this course, we are interested first of all in knowing how we learn music. We will examine the components of the processing of musical information and the ways in which humans appropriate music. We will then study the following question: what currents and pedagogical approaches should be favored in music education? In this context, we will explore various dimensions related to teaching and learning music in elementary and high school. Finally, we will determine how to interact with students with learning difficulties. Possible solutions to the main challenges in terms of behavior will also be suggested.
At the end of the course, students are expected to be able to:
1. identify and differentiate the main components of the processing of music information;
2. to describe and explain the stages of musical development from early childhood to adolescence;
3. to distinguish current pedagogical approaches and method and to understand and analyze the processes involved in learning in music education;
4. choose relevant teaching strategies (used by the teacher) in music education;
5. to propose relevant learning strategies (used by the student) in music education;
6. to solve the main challenges in behavior and adjustment disorders in music education.

Graduate Courses:

Psychological Foundations of Music Education
The course aims to study different psychological foundations of music education in relation to the learning, teaching and performance of music in school or private contexts. The topics covered are: Music, brain and learning, musical development, musical skills and abilities, listening and musical perception, interpretation and expression, learning, practice and motivation, evaluation, teacher and teaching, performance anxiety, music therapy and the impact of music in our lives. The course also aims to train the student to summarize scientific studies, to study the research protocols used to carry out scientific studies in the field concerned, to know more deeply the results of research related to this field, to develop its meaning and to communicate to an audience of researchers, that is to say various professional skills that the student researcher must develop during his scientific training.

Seminar: Early Childhood and Music
Two main aspects are explored: musical awakening in groups, and the introduction of musical instrument through individual teaching. Some themes covered: different pedagogical approaches; techniques and strategies to teach music to young children; the musical development of young children; the global development of young children; musical preferences of young children; extra-musical gains (mathematics, reading, concentration); the role of the parents.

 

©2017

teachingscreen

Hélène Boucher, PhD

Docteure en Éducation Musicale

 

Approche philosophique

Philosophie éthique ontologique - Logstrup/Wheeler1

Pour Logstrup, nous sommes soumis à une exigence éthique lorsque nous rencontrons d'autres personnes et cette demande nous oblige à prendre soin de la partie de leur vie qui a été placée dans nos mains. En d'autres termes, nous sommes intimement liés les uns aux autres et ce lien crée une demande éthique. L'enseignement implique des relations asymétriques: une personne étant plus ou moins dans le pouvoir d'une autre personne, cela exige que nous soyons vigilants lorsque nous tentons de répondre aux exigences individuelles de nos étudiants.

Un élément essentiel de cette exigence éthique est la confiance: «S'associer ou rencontrer personnellement une autre personne signifie toujours être ‘à la merci’ de ses paroles ou de sa conduite.» Ceci nécessite que la confiance ne soit pas abusée.

La demande éthique implique un défi, elle exige de l'amour. Bien qu'il soit parfois difficile d'aimer tous nos étudiants, «nous faisons ce que nous devons faire». On fait alors les choses par responsabilité.

L'élément servant de liant est la médiation. Il s'agit de ce qui agit comme un intermédiaire entre les humains engagés dans un certain type de relation: dans notre contexte, la musique est le médiateur. Le fossé naturel entre les personnes peut être comblé de différentes façons: «nous devons être unis dans une entreprise commune, un intérêt commun».

La demande éthique est radicale pour plusieurs raisons:
1. elle est non dite
2. elle peut être satisfaite avec un acte ou un mot très significatif ou très insignifiant
3. nous devons répondre à la demande, même si nous traitons avec des personnes que nous ne pouvons pas aimer ou dont nous n’apprécions pas la présence.

graphique

Adaptation de cette vision pour l'éducation musicale:

Confiance: En tant qu'enseignants, nous tenons une partie de la vie de chaque étudiant entre nos mains. Notre intention doit être de prendre soin de la part de chaque vie placée dans nos mains.
Un excellent curriculum est un excellent enseignant qui interagit avec les étudiants de manière pédagogique.
Permettre à nos étudiants d'explorer comment une connaissance, une compétence ou une interaction sociale particulière les modifient en tant que personne: comment elles influent sur leur monde individuel. Ce concept est au cœur du bon enseignement.

Défi: C'est une tâche difficile d'enseigner chaque jour à de grands groupes d'étudiants et d'accepter que chacun doive être reconnu en tant qu'individu et dans tous nos efforts, répondre à leurs exigences individuelles. L'amour est exigé par les étudiants. Si un professeur de musique aime la musique, mais n'aime pas également les étudiants à qui il enseigne, alors l'environnement d'apprentissage n'est pas tout ce qu'il pourrait être. Si le professeur de musique est plus préoccupé par sa propre gloire, ou sa propre satisfaction esthétique, c’est insuffisant. Le défi est également d'aimer tous les étudiants, même ceux qui, franchement, ne sont pas facilement aimables.

Médiation: La musique est notre «intérêt commun» qui sert de médiateur aux relations. L'enseignement n'est pas une entreprise et les étudiants ne sont pas des clients. «L'art de l'enseignement» exige de l'amour plus que de la responsabilité et la musique peut fournir l'énergie dans la reconnaissance de nos liens humains.

 

"Je forme des humains, non des musiciens..."
"I teach people, not music…"

 

1. Wheeler, T. R. (2006). Toward a Framework for a New Philosophy of Music Education: Løgstrup as Synergy Between the Platonic and Aristotelian Perspectives in the Music Education Philosophies of Bennett Reimer and David Elliott (Doctoral dissertation, University of North Texas).

  MusicSpecialists

Approche pédagogique

Enseignement et apprentissage actifs

1. Ce que j'entends, j'oublie.
2. Ce que j'entends et vois, je me souviens un peu.
3. Ce que j'entends, vois, questionne ou discute avec quelqu'un, je commence à comprendre.
4. Ce que j'entends, vois, discute et expérimente, me permet de gagner des connaissances et des compétences.
5. Ce que j'enseigne à un autre, je maîtrise.

Gartner, A. (1998). Mutual tutoring: Embedding and extending peer-assisted learning. In K. Topping & S. Ehly (Eds.), Peer-Assisted Learning, 281-289. Hillsdale, NJ: Erlbaum.

 

 

Cours enseignés

Département d'études intégrées en éducation
Faculté d'éducation, Université McGill (Montréal, Québec)

Cours de 1er cycle:

Music Curriculum and Instruction for Generalists
Étude de matériaux sonores, de techniques pédagogiques basées sur une compréhension des concepts musicaux de base, et des théories contemporaines de l'enseignement et de l'apprentissage de la musique. Définition des objectifs musicaux, sélection et développement de matériel pédagogique et étude du programme du Ministère de l'Éducation du Québec. Participation par le chant, le mouvement, l'écoute, la discussion, la planification et la mise en œuvre de cours.

Music Methods I
Préparation au troisième stage en milieu scolaire. Comprend l'étude du contenu du curriculum musical et des approches pédagogiques, des problèmes de gestion de la classe, de la planification des leçons et du développement de programmes pour les écoles primaires et secondaires. Les compétences professionnelles pertinentes seront abordées, développées et évaluées.

Music Methods II
Préparation au quatrième stage en milieu scolaire. Poursuite de l'étude des sujets abordés dans le cours Music Methods I.

  HélèneTeaching

Département d’éducation musicale
École de musique Schulich, Université McGill (Montréal, Québec)

Cours de 1er cycle:

Music for Children
En utilisant des approches actives et axées sur les enfants, telles que Orff, Kodaly et Dalcroze, les étudiants exploreront des techniques et des philosophies pour cultiver la compréhension musicale chez les enfants âgés de 6 à 12 ans. Des recherches liées au développement musical et à la promotion de la créativité seront également étudiées. Une composante d'expérience en milieu scolaire et d'organisation du curriculum est incluse.

Music in Early Childhood
Organisé en laboratoire, ce cours explorera le développement musical et global des enfants de la naissance à l'âge de six ans. Les sujets suivants seront abordés: l'hérédité et l'environnement, les compétences musicales et le développement de concepts, le développement affectif, la créativité et les activités musicales.

Psychology of Music
Les objectifs de ce cours sont les suivants:
1. Explorer différents aspects de la psychologie de la musique dont la musique et le cerveau, le développement musical dans l'enfance, le talent, la perception de la musique, l'interprétation, la pratique, la motivation, l'évaluation, l'enseignement, l'anxiété de performance, la musicothérapie et la musique dans l'industrie.
2. Faire des liens entre la recherche en psychologie de la musique et l'interprétation musicale, la composition, l'analyse et l'éducation.
3. Familiariser les étudiants avec diverses méthodologies de recherche.
4. Comprendre et résumer les articles de recherche et développer un regard critique en ce qui concerne les résultats de recherche.

Music as a Profession
Ce cours fournit aux étudiants en musique des informations utiles pour mener une carrière réussie dans le domaine de la musique. Au cours de cette session, de nombreux sujets liés à ce domaine seront présentés y compris la santé physique et mentale des musiciens, les techniques de pratique, l’esprit d’entreprise et le développement de différentes carrières reliées au monde de la musique.

Doctoral Research Colloquium
Le colloquium doctoral est une série de conférences hebdomadaires organisées par le Département de recherche en musique de l'Université McGill.
Les principaux objectifs du colloquium sont:
1- Fournir aux étudiants au doctorat un environnement stimulant pour présenter leurs recherches et rencontrer leurs collègues au doctorat dans toutes les disciplines de la musique;
2- Offrir des occasions uniques de participer à des recherches présentées par des conférenciers invités et des membres du corps professoral de McGill;
3- Encourager les étudiants à assister à une variété d'ateliers de développement professionnel servant de forum où les étudiants peuvent demander des conseils sur des questions professionnelles.

   

Faculté de musique
Université Laval (Québec, Québec)

Cours de 1er cycle:

Philosophie de l’éducation musicale
philosopher Divers points de vue sur l'art : le référentialisme, l'expressionnisme, le formalisme. Conception philosophique fondamentale sur l'art en général (art et sentiment; création esthétique; signification esthétique; expérience esthétique) et sur la musique plus particulièrement (la signification musicale; l'expérience musicale). Application des concepts philosophiques de base à l'éducation musicale tels que définis par l'esthétisme et le praxialisme.

Psychopédagogie de l'éducation musicale
Dans ce cours, nous nous intéressons d’abord à savoir comment apprend-on la musique? Nous examinerons les composantes du traitement de l’information musicale et les façons dont l’humain s’approprie la musique. Nous étudierons ensuite la question suivante : quels courants et quelles approches pédagogiques doit-on favoriser en éducation musicale? Dans ce contexte, nous approfondirons différentes dimensions liées à l’enseignement et à l’apprentissage de la musique au primaire et au secondaire. Enfin, nous déterminerons comment fait-on face aux troubles d’adaptation? Des pistes de solution aux principaux défis en matière de comportements seront notamment proposées.
À la fin du cours, il est attendu que les étudiants seront en mesure :
1. d’identifier et de différencier les principales composantes du traitement de l’information musicale;
2. de décrire et d’expliquer les étapes du développement musical de la petite enfance à l’adolescence;
3. de distinguer les courants, approches pédagogiques et méthodes abordés; de comprendre et d’analyser les processus impliqués lors des apprentissages en éducation musicale;
4. de choisir des stratégies d’enseignement pertinentes (utilisées par l’enseignant) en éducation musicale;
5. de proposer des stratégies d’apprentissage pertinentes (utilisées par l’élève) en éducation musicale;
6. de résoudre les principaux défis en matière de comportements et de troubles d’adaptation en éducation musicale.

 

Cours de 2e et 3e cycles:

Fondements psychologiques de l’éducation musicale
Le cours vise l’étude de différents fondements psychologiques de l’éducation musicale en lien avec l’apprentissage, l’enseignement et la performance de la musique en contexte scolaire ou privé. Les thèmes abordés sont les suivants: la musique, le cerveau et l’apprentissage, le développement musical, les aptitudes et habiletés musicales, l’écoute et la perception musicale, l’interprétation et l’expression, l’apprentissage, la pratique et la motivation, l’évaluation, l’enseignant et l’enseignement, l’anxiété de performance, la musicothérapie et l’impact de la musique dans nos vies. Le cours vise également à entraîner l’étudiant à résumer des études scientifiques, à étudier les protocoles de recherche utilisés pour réaliser des études scientifiques dans le domaine concerné, à connaître plus en profondeur des résultats de recherche liés à ce domaine, à développer son sens critique sur le plan scientifique et à communiquer devant un auditoire de chercheurs, soit diverses compétences professionnelles que l’étudiant chercheur doit développer durant sa formation scientifique.

Séminaire de didactique: Petite enfance et musique
Dans le cadre de ce séminaire, deux aspects sont principalement explorés : l’éveil musical en groupe et l’introduction de l’enseignement individuel à l’instrument chez les jeunes enfants. Quelques thèmes abordés: différentes approches, techniques et stratégies pour enseigner la musique aux jeunes enfants; le développement musical des jeunes enfants; le développement global des jeunes enfants; les préférences musicales des jeunes enfants; les gains extramusicaux (mathématiques, lecture, concentration); le rôle des parents.

 

©2017