Hélène photo

After completing her studies in performance on the flute, having obtained a bachelor’s degree at the Université Laval and a master’s at the University of Montreal, Hélène Boucher finished her doctorate in music education at McGill University in 2008, thanks to bursaries from McGill and the SSHRC. She continued to develop her expertise in active pedagogy by taking courses including:Kodaly (Indiana University, Bloomington ; Université Wilfred Laurier, Waterloo; Royal Conservatory of Music, Toronto), Orff (Royal Conservatory of Music, Toronto) and Dalcroze (Association Dalcroze Canada, Toronto). She is certified to teach the Kodaly method by the Organization of American Kodály Educators (OAKE).

 

school stairIn addition to her academic background, she has taught music, both pre-school and elementary, for more than 15 years. She is now Faculty Lecturer for the Faculty of Education and the Schulich School of Music, McGill University, where she previously was course lecturer and this since 2005. She was also a Visiting Professor at Université Laval (campus Québec and Sherbrooke) between 2013 and 2018. Courses she teaches include: Music for Children, Music Methods, Music Curriculum and Instruction, Music in Early Childhood, Philosophy of Music Education, Psychology of Music, Graduate Colloquium, Seminar in didactics: Early childhood and music. She received an Award of Excellence for her elementary music education in 2010, as well as the Outstanding Teacher Award from the graduating students from the Faculty of Education at McGill University. She was also nominated for her teaching at the Faculty of Education at McGill University as Teacher of the Year in 2017.

 

In 2000, she also founded Les Ateliers de la Muse, a music, science and arts initiation program for children attending day care centers in the greater Montreal area. This program, which enabled hundreds of children to have a first quality contact with the arts, was bought in 2015 by the company 'Musique et Compagnie' and will continue its work in the same philosophy where play is at the center of learning.

 

enfant-guitareHer research interests have so far centered on the development of performance anxiety in pre-school and school-age children. She was able to demonstrate the existence of this phenomenon in children, from the age of three years. She also assisted Dr. Charlene Ryan (Berklee College) in her research on performance anxiety among 6-12 and 13-17 year-olds. Currently, her research focuses on the cultural adaptation, in French for Quebec, of the Kodaly approach; on individualized mentoring as a teaching medium in early childhood music educator training; on the teaching of philosophy of music education through an experiential rather than traditional approach; and on the development of the compositional capacities of learners aged 8 to 25 using an approach inspired by R. Murray Schafer soundscapes. She has been invited to present the results of her research in various conferences in Canada, the United States and Europe. She is also frequently invited to offer lecture and training in early childhood music teaching, as well as to the Kodaly method. In addition, she is still active as a performer with the chamber a cappella choir'Seraphim' and as a flautist for various occasions. Sound audio clips are available on the page: Performances.

Hélène photo

Suite à des études en interprétation de la flûte traversière (baccalauréat à l’Université Laval, maîtrise à l’Université de Montréal), Hélène Boucher a complété un doctorat en éducation musicale à l’Université McGill en 2008, grâce à des bourses d’entrée de l’Université McGill et à des bourses de recherche du SSHRC. Elle se perfectionne par la suite dans les pédagogies actives : Kodaly (Indiana University, Bloomington ; Wilfred Laurier University, Waterloo; Royal Conservatory of Music, Toronto), Orff (Royal Conservatory of Music, Toronto) et Dalcroze (Association Dalcroze Canada, Toronto). Elle est certifiée pour enseigner la formation Kodaly par l'organisation américaine des éducateurs Kodaly (Organization of American Kodály Educators - OAKE).

 

school stairParallèlement à sa formation académique, elle a enseigné la musique, tant au préscolaire qu’au primaire, pendant plus de 15 ans. Elle est présentement Faculty Lecturer pour la Faculté des sciences de l’éducation et le département d’éducation musicale de l’École de musique Schulich, de l’Université McGill, où elle était auparavant chargée de cours, et ce depuis 2005. Elle a également été professeure invitée à l’Université Laval (campus Québec et Sherbrooke) de 2013 à 2018. Elle enseigne les cours suivants : Music for Children, Music Methods, Music Curriculum and Instruction, Music in Early Childhood, Psychology of Music, Graduate Colloquium, Philosophie de l’éducation musicale, Psychologie de l’éducation musicale, Séminaire en didactique : Petite enfance et musique. Elle reçoit un prix d’excellence pour son enseignement de la musique au primaire en 2010, de même que le prix « Outstanding Teacher » offert par les étudiants de la faculté d’éducation de l’Université McGill. De plus, elle est mise en nomination pour son enseignement à la faculté d’éducation de l’Université McGill à titre d’enseignante de l’année en 2017.

Elle a également fondé, en 2000, Les Ateliers de la Muse, un programme d’initiation à la musique, aux sciences et aux arts offert aux enfants fréquentant les services de garde de la région du grand Montréal. Ce programme, ayant permis à des centaines d’enfants d’avoir un premier contact de qualité avec les arts, a été racheté en 2015 par l’entreprise Musique et Compagnie et poursuivra son œuvre dans la même philosophie où le jeu est au centre de l’apprentissage.

 

enfant-guitareSes intérêts de recherche se sont concentrés jusqu’à maintenant sur le développement de l’anxiété de performance chez les enfants d’âge préscolaire et scolaire. Elle a pu démontrer l’existence de ce phénomène chez les enfants, dès l’âge de trois ans. Elle a également assisté le Dr. Charlene Ryan (Berklee College) dans ses recherches sur l’anxiété de performance chez les 6-12 ans et les 13-17 ans. Présentement, ses recherches portent sur l’adaptation culturelle, en français pour le Québec, de l’approche Kodaly; sur le mentorat individualisé comme outil dans la formation des éducateurs en musique pour la petite enfance; sur l’enseignement de la philosophie de l’éducation musicale par une approche expérientielle plutôt que traditionnelle; et sur le développement des capacités de composition de l’âge de 8 ans à 25 ans par une approche inspirée des paysages sonores de R. Murray Schafer. Elle a été invitée à présenter les résultats de ses recherches dans diverses conférences au Canada, aux États-Unis et en Europe. Elle est également fréquemment conviée à offrir des conférences et formations en éveil musical, de même qu’à la méthode Kodaly. Par ailleurs, elle poursuit ses activités d’interprète avec le chœur de chambre a capella ‘Seraphim’ et comme flûtiste pour diverses occasions. Des extraits sonores sont disponibles sur la page : Interprétations.